On Tue, 2013-06-04 at 08:44 -0700, Brian C. Lane wrote:
From: "Brian C. Lane" bcl@redhat.com
This is a dangerous feature, but gdm depends on it for its passwordless login 'feature'. If the password is set to "" it will unlock the user account. Note that only "" will work -- if it is set to None or False it will create a locked account.
ACK. Although it is a dangerous feature, it's user's choice, quite explicitly stated by unchecking the "Require password..." checkbox.