Anne Wilson wrote:
Oops - I think I've just made a terrible mistake. I rsync'd
directory, forgetting that it would take the hidden files and config files
with it. Now I'll have to see what damage is done.
This reminded me of another option that is very useful , specially when
you use --delete: --dry-run.. It will only show what would be done when
running the sync and wont execute it for real. Excellent for checking if
you didn't do any wrong exclude.