Travis Whitlock btw9979 at
Thu Nov 4 19:50:53 UTC 2010

Hello all,
   My name is Travis Whitlock and I am an American currently living in
Darmstadt, Germany.  This is my first time contributing to an open source
project and I am very excited to help out.  I would really like to offer
something in return to the open source community that has already helped me
and I really believe in the cause of free software.  I chose Fedora because
I have tried several Linux distros and Fedora is by far my favorite.  Below
are my answers to the standard questions from the website:

*1.  What other projects or writing have you worked on in the past? *
     I spent 8 years in the US Air Force and worked as an information
manager.  This job involved lots of writing for high level military
officers.  Its not the style I will be using in the documentation for Fedora
but it did teach me a lot about writing.  After my military time I started
working as a system administrator.  I have done lots of server documentation
which usually involves writing the occasional "idiot-proof" walkthrough.

*2.  What level and type of computer skills do you have?*
    I have been working in IT for 14 years as a system administrator.  I am
getting my big break into systems engineering in Jan 2011 at a company that
uses Linux to build secure computing systems.  I have experience with many
different systems including:  Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Sun Solaris 8/10,
 Trusted Solaris, and Windows (3.1 and up).  I have very little college time
behind me but several industry certifications.
    I also enjoy programming and scripting.  I have experience with bash,
csh, perl, python, windows powershell, C# and the .net framework.  My best
accomplishment so far as a programmer is that I wrote a set of scripts that
replaced my companies broken MS Systems Management Server (SMS).  I even
built a cool GUI so that my coworkers (windows admins) could use it. :)  I
love to code but I am a little intimidated by OS and App development so I
decided to start off helping with documentation.

*3.  What other skills do you have that might be applicable?*
*   *I have lots of experience with US govt IT systems.  So if anyone ever
has questions about how the govt does IT I can probably help you out.

*4.  What makes you an excellent match for the project?*
*    *I am very excited and inexperienced but enthusiasm counts for
something.  I just want to start off with something simple and work my way
up to more difficult tasks.  Having a mentor would be nice.

GPG KEYID and Fingerprint

pub   2048R/98824C0B 2010-11-03
      Key fingerprint = 630C AF6D D95A F129 97FC  3BA1 A3AD 261A 9882 4C0B
uid                  Benjamin Travis Whitlock <btw9979 at>
sub   2048R/C944289E 2010-11-03

I look forward to meeting the folks on the documentation team.

Travis Whitlock
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...

More information about the docs mailing list