OT: fighting rbl's

Thomas Zehetbauer thomasz at hostmaster.org
Tue Nov 30 19:39:05 UTC 2004

On Die, 2004-11-30 at 16:52 +0800, HaJo Schatz wrote:
> I'd in the first instance ask myself why my IP got into their list. You
> wouldn't have had your server open for public relay in the past (or
> still), would you? I believe tackling the root cause should be the first
> step.

The RBL providers _assuming_ the range my IP is in to be 1) dynamic 2)
for residential customers.

I have _never_ run a public relay and almost certainly never will.

> > I first thought of a cronjob to nag the removal contact about once per
> > hour, but I doubt this account does ever get read.
> With this attitude I understand why your IP is in black-lists ;-)

What do you do against blackmailers that are out of your legal and
physical reach?

> Yepp. On top, you may talk to the final receipient and inform him about
> the unprofessional mail admin (if this is really true, see above) he's
> paying fees to. His voice to an ISPs mail admin will be stronger than
> yours.

My current problem is that I cannot post to postfix-users at postfix.org, I
have already mailed Wietse but got no response.

> > Reciprocally blocking their domain from delivering here?
> Which would put you on the same level of mail admin you claim they are...

I would only prevent them to send a mail to which they cannot get an


  T h o m a s   Z e h e t b a u e r   ( TZ251 )
  PGP encrypted mail preferred - KeyID 96FFCB89
      finger thomasz at hostmaster.org for key

There's too much blood in my caffeine system.

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 481 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
Url : http://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/users/attachments/20041130/24db288e/attachment-0002.bin 

More information about the users mailing list